Uncategorized

Hoarder Culturist. 

A play on words or a reality? 

I’ve recently discovered how therapeutic and exciting indoor gardening is. Yes, indoor. For the past year I have been in an apartment. I find it a bit funny when my roommates walk in and find my “gardening” all across the kitchen table. 

I looked around my house today and realized JUST how many cacti, succulents, and plants I have obtained in the past few months. “Slow down,” my bank account says. “BUY ALL THE PLANTS,” my heart says. I’ve had to limit the amount of times I can walk through plant stores because I’ve discovered that I have no self control when I walk into a nursery. 

So, while I can’t go and buy more plants, (all my window sills are full!) I decided to share some pictures with you! Enjoy! 

 

I bought this quaint little shelf at IKEA the other day and it’s been perfect! It has two tiers and an open back so my little babies underneath still see the sun! 

  

Bebe sunflowers! I really need to transfer these babies and give them more space. They grew so fast! 

 

Cacti/Succulent windowsill! Also featuring my growing little ivy cutting from my mother and the beautiful Peace Lilly on the left! It’s getting so big! 

 

   

It’s been my first time propagating these little ones and I am so so SO proud of them!! This is about 6-7 weeks progress! 

  And here is my pal Gilbert, surrounded by nature! He’s one happy 8 month old fellow! 

  Aaaaaaand, my greatest accomplishment! Here is one of my very first succulents. I bought him outside of Kroger and he was such a cute little thing l couldn’t resist! He didn’t show any signs of growth for so long I began to give up hope. I LITERALLY squealed when I woke up to these new little guys growing at the top! 

I’m so glad I didn’t let “apartment” excuses keep me from developing a hobby that has brought so much joy and beauty into my life! It’s been tough trying to develop a green thumb, but it’s also been incredibly worth every dollar and every hour spent scrolling online articles and book reading! 

And lastly, gardening is not without its losses. I am sorry to say that my dear friend Mr. Echeveria didn’t survive through my learning days. RIP my dear succulent. I’m sorry I didn’t provide you with enough sunlight. 

I hope you’ve enjoyed seeing a bit into my home today! If you would like to follow my blog, email subscription is now available by pressing the settings button in the center at the top of the page! 

Get ready for a post on my 2015 Book Reading Challenge, coming soon! 🙂 

Also, I’m loving this iphone6 camera. Here’s a glance into Gil’s dwelling place. He likes plants too. 😉 

  

Standard

Leave a Reply

